The ICAHO Abstract Merit Award Deadline is Approaching! Don’t miss out on your chance to present your abstract!

Merit Award Deadline 2

There are only ten days left until the deadline to submit abstracts eligible for the Merit Award for the 5th International Conference on Advances in Hematology and Oncology. We at BTF are excited to read your basic science and clinical research abstracts, as well as abstracts about case reports. All abstracts must be related to Oncology, Hematology, and/or Palliative Care.

Up to ten awards will be given to entrants for them to present their abstract at ICAHO 2017. Award recipients will receive $500.00 for travel assistance, as well as complimentary conference registration. Abstracts eligible for this award must have an applicant who is one of the following: a medical student, graduate student, resident physician, postdoctoral fellow (MD or PhD), or a junior faculty (in practice for less than three years). The applicant must also be the first or senior author of the abstract; this person will also be the presenter at the conference. Abstracts to be considered for an award must be submitted by May 15th, 2017, 11:59 PM PST.

Find out more about the abstract policy here. All abstracts must be submitted by June 16th, 2017, 11:59 PM PST. Accepted abstracts will be published in the journal, Anticancer Research. Email abstracts and a list of authors to

Logo Design Contest!


About the Contest: The Binaytara Foundation is in need of a new logo! We’re inviting  graphic designers with creative ideas to participate in our logo design contest to create a modern, elegant, and easily recognizable logo that represents the Binaytara Foundation’s mission –   Innovate, Educate, Advocate to improve healthcare. This logo can be typeface, illustrative, and/or abstract.

We encourage you to visit our website to read and understand our mission, vision, values, and initiatives before creating the logo design.

The prize: The winner of this contest will be awarded one hundred US dollars, and recognized as the logo designer on our website, blog, and social media pages.

Important dates:

  • All submissions must be emailed to by Friday, May 19th, 2017.
  • Any requested revisions must be completed and submitted within a week.
  • Finalists will be announced on Monday, May 29th, 2017
  • The winner will be announced on Friday, June 16th, 2017

The rules:

  • Contestants may enter up to 6 original designs.
  • Designs must be sent in EPS file format.
  • By entering this logo design contest, you agree to transfer the copyright of the logo design to the Binaytara Foundation.

The Northwest Cancer Summit: Success in Mount Vernon!

BTF held the second NW Cancer Summit this last Sunday, March 26th at Skagit Valley College in Mount Vernon! Over thirty people were in attendance to hear from our six experts. Attendees were very active in this summit’s conversation! For this summit, we gave similar talks about Immunotherapy, finding credible news sources, and nurse navigation. This time we added a presentation by Dr. William Hall about Radiation therapy. Our next summit will take place on June 4th, 2017 in Bellingham, WA, USA. This date is also Cancer Survivorship day. Stand by for more information about the next summit! We’ll be posting updates here, and on our other media outlets such as Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and of course, the Summit website. Here are some of the photographs taken by Kyra of Kyra Taubel Photography.

IMG_6406Executive Director Tara Shah getting ready to welcome guests.

IMG_6423Tara Shah and guests.

IMG_6443Attendees waiting for the start of the summit.

IMG_6465Summit panelists Kera Wanielista and Rev. Mary Bosell, MDiv, BCC chatting before the start of the summit.

IMG_6519Radiation Oncologist, Dr. William Hall giving us a Cancer Cell 101.

IMG_6521Summit attendees listening to the cancer talks.

IMG_6540Tina Hoxie, RN speaking to attendees about Nurse Navigation for cancer treatments.

Thank you to our sponsors:

PeaceHealth United General Hospital – Platinum

Pfizer – Platinum

Bristol-Myers Squibb – Platinum

Helsinn – Gold

Merck – Gold

Janssen – Silver


And thank you to our Volunteers:

Kyra Taubel-Bruce and Maddy Greathouse